Black Chalk: Book by Christopher J. Yates

Black Chalk

Product Details:    Share this by email:

ISBN: 9781846557286    Publisher: Random House Year of publishing: 2013     Format:  Paperback No of Pages: 352        Language: English
A compulsively readable psychological thriller set in New York and at Oxford University, in which a group of six students play an elaborate game of dares and consequences - with tragic results

One game....Read more
A compulsively readable psychological thriller set in New York and at Oxford University, in which a group of six students play an elaborate game of dares and consequences - with tragic results

One game. Six students. Five survivors. It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. Now, fourteen years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round. A gripping psychological thriller - partly inspired by the author's own time at Oxford University - this is perfect for fans of The Secret History, The Bellwether Revivals and The LessonsClever, dark and compulsively readable, this is an ideal book group title: who knows better than your best friends, what would break you?The author's background in puzzle writing and setting can clearly be seen in the plotting of this clever, tricksy book that will keep readers guessing to the very end
Read less
About the author: Christopher J. Yates
Christopher J. Yates initially pursued a career in law before he began working in puzzles, representing the UK at the World Puzzle Championships. Since... Read more
Christopher J. Yates initially pursued a career in law before he began working in puzzles, representing the UK at the World Puzzle Championships. Since then he has worked as a freelance journalist, sub-editor, and puzzles editor/compiler. In 2007 he moved to New York City, and currently lives in the East Village.
Read less
Review:
An inventive and intricate psychological puzzle thriller that mystifies, torments, disturbs, beguiles... a powerfully intelligent debut" -- Marcel Berlins The Times "A compulsive page-turner that...Read more
An inventive and intricate psychological puzzle thriller that mystifies, torments, disturbs, beguiles... a powerfully intelligent debut" -- Marcel Berlins The Times "A compulsive page-turner that will hold your attention until the very last word" -- Natasha Harding Sun "Sinister, addictive and unpredictable - this is a novel to be devoured greedily, at speed, but one that will leave its footprint on your memory for far longer" -- Natasha Lunn Red "Yates's take on the collegiate thriller lives up to early comparisons to Donna Tartt's The Secret History... filled with gleeful malevolence" Grazia "[A] chilling debut...this is a thriller, a cautionary tale and a sobering exploration of unintended consequences rolled into one" Daily Mail
Read less

Recommended Books for you - See all

OUT OF STOCK

Looks like the book you were looking for is currently not in stock with us. Please leave us your email and phone number.
We will get back to you as soon as it's available.

Your email
Phone No.
Enter characters from image

Rs.200 OFF

on purchase of Rs.500 & above

1.Click on Add to Cart & Proceed to Checkout
2.Under payment options, choose
"Redeem Coupon Code/Gift Certificate"
3.Enter Promo Code "SHOP200"
4.Get Rs.200 off, Pay Balance Amount

Valid upto 21st July,13

Rs.200 OFF

on purchase of Rs.500 & above

Terms & Conditions