Buy Books Online > Autobiography: arts & entertainment > My Wicked, Wicked Ways: The Autobiography of Errol Flynn
My Wicked, Wicked Ways: The Autobiography of Errol Flynn: Book by Jeffrey Meyers

My Wicked, Wicked Ways: The Autobiography of Errol Flynn

Product Details:    Share this by email:

ISBN: 9780815412502    Publisher: Cooper Square Publishers Inc.,U.S. Year of publishing: 2002     Format:  Paperback No of Pages: 464        
Known to millions as the preeminent swashbuckler of the silver screen, Errol Flynn was a complex man who lived a life far more adventurous than any of his films. In My Wicked, Wicked Ways, Flynn reveals...Read more
Known to millions as the preeminent swashbuckler of the silver screen, Errol Flynn was a complex man who lived a life far more adventurous than any of his films. In My Wicked, Wicked Ways, Flynn reveals himself to be a self-aware and cosmopolitan devotee of excitement and pleasure. With gusto, he recalls his years as a soldier of fortune in the South Seas, his trip to war-torn Spain, his battles in Hollywood with studio honchos (Jack Warner was a particular nemesis) and ex-wives (esp. Lili Damita), and the furor surrounding his trial for rape in 1943. Freely mixing verbal abuse and tall tales with candid confessions, Flynn's autobiography makes for one hell of a read.
Read less
About the author: Jeffrey Meyers
Errol Flynn (1909-1959) starred in 53 films including The Adventures of Robin Hood, The Sea Hawk, and The Sun Also Rises. Jeffrey Meyers, author of Inherited... Read more
Errol Flynn (1909-1959) starred in 53 films including The Adventures of Robin Hood, The Sea Hawk, and The Sun Also Rises. Jeffrey Meyers, author of Inherited Risk: Errol Flynn and Sean Flynn in Hollywood and Vietnam , lives in Berkeley, California.
Read less
Review:
This is a major autobiography in the tradition of Cellini, Casanova, and Frank Harris. Guardian Flynn set the record straight and is brutally honest in his posthumously published self-portrait....Read more
This is a major autobiography in the tradition of Cellini, Casanova, and Frank Harris. Guardian Flynn set the record straight and is brutally honest in his posthumously published self-portrait. This restored version of the 1959 original contains numerous passages deletec from earlier editions for fear of lawsuits-he was equally brutal in his portrayal of many Hollywood big shots-plus eight pages of photos and a new introduction by biographer Jeffrey Meyers. Library Journal A document on Hollywood life far beyond its fan magazine fascination... . [Flynn] delivers footnotes to film history that are hard to come by. San Francisco Chronicle The Tasmanian-actor portrays himself not as a debonair swashbuckler but as a chronically unhappy soul whose luck talent and high spirits vaulted him to fame, even as he remained unfulfilled until the end. Indiana Gazette This restored version of the 1959 original contains numerous passages deleted from earlier editions for fear of lawsuits- he was equally brutal in his portrayal of many Hollywood big shots- plus eight pages of photos and a new introduction by biographer Jeffery Meyers. -- Michael Rogers Library Journal In the book, Flynn writes in a loose style, sometimes reminiscent of someone writing in a journal, sometimes as though he is talking to a friend. -- Carol Moulton Clifton Record "the confessions of a rake, unsparing of himself or anyone else..." Newsweek William Macy isn't a fan of horses, althoughn he understands the power of aniamals on the human spirit. But there's something about telling stories about animals that allows us to epathize ever more than we can with people. The Scoop Incredibly absorbing... . Just as in life, Flynn spares himself nothing-and from his book emerges the same roguish charm that endeared his celluloid incarnation to millions. Saturday Review Flynn writes cleverly, as he talked. He has left us a good book. The New York Times
Read less

Other books by Jeffrey Meyers

Recommended Books for you - See all

Price: Rs. 1191   Rs.1040
You save: Rs.151
Vendor : PBC Books, Delhi
BUY NOW

FREE SHIPPING | Delivered in 21 working days

(Cash on delivery not available)

Imported Edition

Be assured. 7 days Return & Refund Policy.
Click here

Rs.200 OFF

on purchase of Rs.500 & above

1.Click on Add to Cart & Proceed to Checkout
2.Under payment options, choose
"Redeem Coupon Code/Gift Certificate"
3.Enter Promo Code "SHOP200"
4.Get Rs.200 off, Pay Balance Amount

Valid upto 21st July,13

Rs.200 OFF

on purchase of Rs.500 & above

Terms & Conditions